Sorry, I don’t speak Math language.

Felt just like a foreigner in class.

Not because I don’t know anyone, but the language was… not exactly one that I speak.

I never knew that in mathematics, there are so much that sounds exactly like English. Only thing that went through my mind was “SAME SAME BUT DIFFERENT”. The English terms used were the same,

NOUNS

CONVENTIONS

SEMANTICS

It’s like I’m so familiar with it all because it is used in the English language, but again, different because it is used in Mathematics!

I never knew I had to count nouns out loud. Yes. COUNT NOUNS. So today, while walking my daughter up the steps, I went “1 step, 2 steps, 3 steps” being something new from the usual, “1, 2, 3, 4, 5” she gave me the most bazaar stare ever.

I guess like what prof said, MODELLING is important. I’m sure the little one would get it.

Now I find myself counting everything with the noun.

Image

Leave a Reply

